॥ શ્રી સ્વામિનારાયણો વિજયતે ॥


Spiritual Discourses

by Bhagwan Swaminarayan

Gadhada I-48

The Four Types of Kusangis

On the evening of Mahā sudi 13, Samvat 1876 [28 January 1820], Swāmi Shri Sahajānandji Mahārāj was sitting facing west on a large, decorated cot on the platform under the neem tree in front of the mandir of Shri Vāsudevnārāyan in Dādā Khāchar’s darbār in Gadhadā. He was dressed entirely in white clothes. At that time, an assembly of munis as well as devotees from various places had gathered before Him. Two torches were lit in front of Him after the evening ārti of Shri Vāsudevnārāyan and the ‘Nārāyan’ dhunya had finished.

Then Shriji Mahārāj said, “I wish to speak to you, so please listen with attention.”

All of the munis and devotees said, “Please do, Mahārāj.”

Thereupon Shriji Mahārāj said, “After performing the puja and prayers of God, a devotee should daily pray, ‘O Mahārāj! O Swāmi! You are an ocean of grace! You are a guardian to those who have surrendered to You! Please protect me from the influence of kusangis.’”

Shriji Mahārāj then elaborated, “There are four types of kusangis: the first are Kudā-panthis, the second are Shakti-panthis, the third are shushka-Vedāntis and the fourth are nāstiks. Of these four types of kusangis, if a person associates with Kudā-panthis, they will cause him to falter in his religious vows and make him impure. If a person associates with Shakti-panthis, he will be forced to consume meat and alcohol, thus deflecting him from his observance of swadharma. By associating with a shushka-Vedānti, a person falls from bhakti and upāsanā because such people claim that the abode of God, His eternally divine form, and the forms of God’s avatārs are all false. Finally, if a person associates with nāstiks, they propound that only karmas are real and deny the existence of God, i.e., Shri Krishna Bhagwān, thereby leading one astray from the path prescribed by the eternal, sacred scriptures.

“Therefore, one should request from God: ‘May I never encounter the company of these four types of people.’ One should also pray: ‘O Mahārāj! Please protect me from the inner enemies of lust, anger, avarice, infatuation, egotism, jealousy, the belief that I am the body, etc. Forever bestow upon me the company of your devotees.’ One should daily pray to God in this manner and always be wary of such kusangis and one’s inner enemies.”

Vachanamrut ॥ 48 ॥

* * *

This Vachanamrut took place ago.

Prakaran Gadhada I (78) Sarangpur (18) Kariyani (12) Loya (18) Panchala (7) Gadhada II (67) Vartal (20) Amdavad (3) Gadhada III (39) Bhugol-Khagol Additional (11) Additional Info Vachanamrut Study People in the Vachanamrut Vachanamrut Introduction Vachanamrut Principles Vachanamrut Preface Pramukh Swami Maharaj’s Blessings Vachanamrut Calendar Paratharo 4: Auspicious Marks Paratharo 5: Daily Routine Appendices

Type: Keywords Exact phrase